skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Learn about our Safe Care Commitment and COVID-19 FAQs | Use our Prescreen app before arrival for faster entry

Header Skipped.

Department of Nursing

Through our doors, exceptional nurses

provide exceptional care

Nursing Awards

Photo of recent DAISY recipient

Annual Nursing Employee Awards

Each year during National Nurses Week, Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital celebrates its nurses with awards recognizing excellence in critical thinking, commitment to patient teaching, continuing education and outstanding delivery of patient- and family-centered care with compassion and dignity.

**The 2023 nomination period is now closed. Thank you for your submissions! **

Click on one of the awards below for more information:

Extra (S)miles Award

Established in 1998 in memory of Mary Devane to be given to any member of Brigham and Woman’s Faulkner Hospital’s Department of Nursing (RN, PCA, UST, MHW, Secretary) in recognition of their commitment to delivering patient care with compassion, kindness and humor.

Nursing Practice Advancement Award

Established by Elaine Hazelton’s family in 2009 to be given to a nurse who demonstrates a dedication to Brigham and Woman’s Faulkner Hospital within the practice and advancement of nursing (recipient should be continuing his/her nursing education).

Excellence in Patient and Family Education Award

Established in memory of Angela McAlarney in 2003 to be given to a member of Brigham and Woman’s Faulkner Hospital’s Department of Nursing in recognition of excellence in patient and family education.

Clinical Excellence Award

Established by the Mrachek Family in 1995 and given to three members of Brigham and Woman’s Faulkner Hospital’s Department of Nursing in recognition of their clinical skills and to support their continuing education in the nursing profession.

Newly Licensed Nurse of the Year Award

Given to a rising star hired within the last year who demonstrates personal and professional growth.

Emmly Fidelia / Nursing Support Staff Award

Established in 2020 in honor of Emmly Fidelia. Given to a member of the Department of Nursing’s support staff, including PCAs, USTs, MHWs and Secretaries, in recognition of their commitment to the units and staff and their integral role in the delivery of care for our patients.

image of 2022 Nursing Award winners

Other Nursing Awards

Click on a link below to learn more:

Evidence Based Practice Award

Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital’s Evidence-Based Practice Award was established in 2019 by the Department of Nursing to be given in recognition of a multidisciplinary unit-based team or committee with a project that contributes to evidence-based practice. Initially the award was given by the Professional Advancement and Recognition Committee as part of the annual Nurse Recognition Awards ceremony. In 2022, the award was given for the first time by the Evidence-Based Practice/Research Committee during the Fall Nursing Summit.

2022 nomination period is currently closed.

Kathy Codair Leadership Award

The Kathy Codair Leadership Award, established in 2023, is given to two leaders in Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital's Department of Nursing in recognition of their dedication to the embodiment of empathy, kindness, and clinical excellence in the way they lead their teams and care for their patients.

**The 2023 nomination period is open from March 1 through March 31.**

Submit a nomination

Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital

Offering comprehensive medical, surgical and psychiatric care as well as complete emergency, ambulatory and diagnostic services to residents of southwest Boston and the surrounding suburbs.

Learn more about BWFH