skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Notice of privacy incident at Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital Learn More

Header Skipped.

Nurse Recognition Awards highlight the work of the most accomplished members of the Department of Nursing

2018 Nurse Recognition Award Winners

Each year, as part of its National Nurses Week celebration, Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital celebrates its nurses with awards recognizing excellence in critical thinking, commitment to patient teaching, continuing education and outstanding delivery of patient- and family-centered care with compassion and dignity. This year’s winners are just a few examples of the amazing work being done within the Department of Nursing on a daily basis.

On hand at the Nurse Recognition Awards ceremony was Chief Nursing Officer and Vice President of Patient Care Services Cori Loescher, MM, BSN, RN, NEA-BC, who thanked members of the Department of Nursing for the work they do to care for our patients and their families each and every day. “We are so proud of the work that you do and we owe you an enormous amount of gratitude,” she said. “I also want to acknowledge our donor families. The reason we are here to give these awards is because of their generosity.”

BWFH President Michael Gustafson, MD, MBA, also spoke, describing what it is like to come from a family full of nurses and his admiration for the profession. “I personally know what it means to dedicate your profession and your life to a nursing career. It truly is a passion and a life commitment,” he said. Dr. Gustafson went on to describe the high level of care BWFH nurses provide to patients and their families, highlighting some of the accolades BWFH has received this year for both patient safety and patient satisfaction. “None of this is possible without those who are around the bedside 24/7 and in our ambulatory areas. I want to celebrate your contributions,” he said.

Michelle Aste, BSN, RN, from 7 South, Sheila Derby, RN, from the Gregory Endoscopy Centre and Cynthia Parker, BS, RN, from 6 North all received Mrachek Awards from Mr. Mrachek himself. The Mrachek Award was established in 1995 and is given to three members of BWFH’s Department of Nursing in recognition of their clinical skills and to support their continuing education in the nursing profession.

The Mary Devane Award was established in 1998 to be given to any member of BWFH’s Department of Nursing (RN, PCA, UST, MHW, Secretary) in recognition of their commitment to delivering patient care with compassion, kindness and humor. This year, the Devane Award went to Kettly Jean Felix, PCA 2 on 6 North.

Members of the McAlarney family were on hand to present their award to the Pain Management Center’s Kathy Armando, BSN, RN. The Angela McAlarney Award was established in 2003 to be given to a member of BWFH’s Department of Nursing in recognition of excellence in patient and family education.

Finally, Laurie Flahive, RN, also from the Pain Management Center, received the Elaine Hazelton Memorial Scholarship Award from Mr. Hazelton. Elaine Hazelton’s family established this award in 2009 to be given to a nurse who demonstrates a dedication to BWFH within the practice and advance of nursing. This recipient should be continuing his or her nursing education.

To see the slideshow played at the event to celebrate all of BWFH’s nurses, click here.

Read more news from Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital

Looking for more news from BWFH? Go to News to find articles about health, updates to our programs and services and stories about staff and patients.

Go to News