skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Notice of privacy incident at Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital Learn More

Header Skipped.

Nurse Recognition Awards highlight the work of BWFH’s most accomplished nurses

Each year, during National Nurses Week, Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital celebrates its nurses with awards recognizing excellence in critical thinking, commitment to patient teaching, continuing education and outstanding delivery of patient- and family-centered care with compassion and dignity. This year’s winners are just a few examples of the work being done each and every day within the Department of Nursing.

On hand at the Nurse Recognition Awards ceremony was Vice President of Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer Judy Hayes, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, who spoke of the accomplishments the Department of Nursing has achieved in the last year. She highlighted the department’s continued efforts toward achieving Magnet Designation, the poster and podium presentations presented this year at national conferences, the many nurses who’ve gone back to school to continue their education or earn certification and the projects being done by the Unit Based Councils. “What’s most impressive is the true sense of collaborative practice here. None of us can achieve any of the things we do without the support of senior leadership, our physician colleagues and the many other disciplines and departments that support us each and every day,” she said. “It’s because of the hard work of our nurses and the other staff members that they work with each and every day that we are able to provide high-quality care to our patients.”

BWFH President Michael Gustafson, MD, MBA, also spoke, thanking the families who so generously support the Nurse Recognition Awards each year and congratulating the recipients. “We are so very proud of the nursing care that’s delivered at BWFH. It is at an exceptionally high-quality level. It continues to amaze me on a day-to-day basis,” he said.

Kimberly Danna, RN, from 6 North, Mary Malinn, BSN, RN, from the PACU and Brenda Miele, BSN, RN, from 7 South all received Mrachek Awards. The Mrachek Award was established in 1995 and is given to three members of BWFH’s Department of Nursing in recognition of their clinical skills and to support their continuing education in the nursing profession.

The Mary Devane Award was established in 1998 to be given to any member of BWFH’s Department of Nursing (RN, PCA, UST, MHW, Secretary) in recognition of their commitment to delivering patient care with compassion, kindness and humor. This year, the Devane Award went to Tonya Green, Department Secretary in the Gregory Endoscopy Centre.  Members of the Devane family were on hand to present the award.

Members of the McAlarney family were on hand to present their award to Jill Benoit, BSN, RN, from the PACU and Erica Ricci, BSN, RN, from 7 South. The Angela McAlarney Award was established in 2003 to be given to a member of BWFH’s Department of Nursing in recognition of excellence in patient and family education.

Finally, Helen Driscoll, RN, CGRN, from the Gregory Endoscopy Centre received the Elaine Hazelton Memorial Scholarship Award from Mr. Hazelton. Elaine Hazelton’s family established this award in 2009 to be given to a nurse who demonstrates a dedication to BWFH within the practice and advance of nursing. This recipient should be continuing his or her nursing education.

To see the slideshow played at the event to celebrate all of BWFH’s nurses, click here (intranet).

Read more news from Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital

Looking for more news from BWFH? Go to News to find articles about health, updates to our programs and services and stories about staff and patients.

Go to News