BWFH employees honored at 24th Annual PIE Award

2019 PIE Award Winners

At the 24th Annual Partners in Excellence (PIE) Award Ceremony at Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital, those staff members who go above and beyond were honored for their commitment to our patients, their families and each other. This year, seven individuals and two teams from BWFH received PIE Awards.

“It’s important for us to celebrate ourselves,” said BWFH President David O. McCready. “We all work hard to take great care of our patients and one another, but today we celebrate those who have gone above and beyond this year.”

For this year’s recipients, the afternoon was truly special.

Community Health Program Coordinator Katie Plante, who received an individual award, says of the honor, “It really means a lot to know that my efforts are appreciated. This award is also very indicative of the support and commitment of all of us who work together in community health.”

Chief NP of the Orthopaedic and Spine Surgery Service Katie Killinger, MSN, RN, CNP, says she was shocked to received PIE Awards in both the individual and team categories here at BWFH, as well as for her participation on a Partners network team. For Killinger, achieving excellence is in large part about achieving strong working relationships. For example, “the success of Total Joint Arthroplasty Same Day Surgery Program is a direct reflection of how all teams came together to accomplish a common goal,” she says.

Following the ceremony, winners and guests were invited to a reception in the Mary Ann Tynan Conference Center where a variety of pie was served. To see more photos from the event, visit BWFH’s Facebook page.

2019 Partners in Excellence Award Winners


Alex Giove

Katherine Killinger

Kathleen Lyons

Alberto Malagon

Patricia Martin

Kathryn Plante

Benjamin Yudkoff


Brigham Health Total Joint Arthroplasty Same Day Discharge Program

Jeffrey Blackwell (Team Leader)

Jean Jay (Team Leader)

Patrice Baril

Mary Anne Barry

Amanda Borchers

Kristen Boyer

Rebecca Cyr

Frantzie Firmin

Wolfgang Fitz

James Grafton

John Hauck

Nickisha Hurlock

Richard Iorio

Robin Kaufman

Elizabeth Keegan

Katherine Killinger

Kathleen Lang

Sara Lourie

Gina Marsh

Mary Martin

Kathryn McCarraher

Maria McKay-Murphy

Laura Panza

Carlo Pesce

Paul Riley

Charlene Salvi

David Shaff

Vivek Shah

Mary Catherine West

Post-Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU) Ketamine Champions

Jill Benoit (Team Leader)

Mary Deseignora

Robin Egan

In addition to the individuals and teams recognized at BWFH’s PIE Award Ceremony, additional staff members were also recognized for their participation on Partners network teams:

Bugsy Infection Control Implementation Team

Roger Clark

Patricia Martin

IV Pump Selection Team

Philip Malleson

David Napoli

Julia Shannon

Paula Wolski

Surgical Pain Group

Katie Killinger

Read more news from Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital

Looking for more news from BWFH? Go to News to find articles about health, updates to our programs and services and stories about staff and patients.

Go to News