skip to Cookie NoticeSkip to contents

Notice of privacy incident at Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital Learn More

Header Skipped.

BWFH employees honored at 22nd Annual PIE Awards

At the 22nd Annual Partners in Excellence (PIE) Award Ceremony at Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital, those staff members who go above and beyond were honored for their commitment to our patients, their families and each other. Nominated by their colleagues, PIE Award winners are recognized for the significant contributions they make in the areas of Quality Treatment and Service, Leadership and Innovation, Teamwork, Operational Efficiency, Outstanding Community Contributions and Sustainability. This year, eight individuals and seven teams from BWFH received PIE Awards.

At the award ceremony, officiated by Executive Director of Human Resources Laura Barnett, President Michael Gustafson, MD, MBA, welcomed this year’s winners and thanked them for their dedication. “While we can only select a few recipients for Partners in Excellence Awards each year, every one of you here today exemplifies the kind of hard work and caring nature that makes our hospital such a great place to work and receive care,” he said.

Dr. Gustafson went on to talk about the hospital’s achievements over the last year, including a successful Joint Commission survey, being awarded another Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade A, the Operating Room completing more than 10,000 cases, the Emergency Department seeing more than 30,000 patients and the Department of Nursing continuing on their quest for Magnet designation. He also talked about how proud he is of the hospital’s five-star rating for Overall Hospital Quality from Hospital Compare.

“I know how hard each and every one of you work to provide the best care possible to our patients and their families,” he said. “I can’t stress this enough—none of these accomplishments would be possible without your dedication to our mission of serving others. Three hundred and sixty-five days a year you serve our patients, you serve their families, you serve our visitors and all who come through our doors. And perhaps most importantly, your unwavering dedication is most evident in your service to each other.”

Brigham Health President Elizabeth Nabel, MD, also offered her congratulations. “I’m so impressed with the many, many accomplishments that Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital has achieved in the past year!” she said. “Listening to Dr. Gustafson’s comments, I can see how PIE recipients play a vital role in fulfilling our precious mission by providing high quality care, pushing the boundaries of medicine, training the next generation of healthcare leaders and serving our local and global communities.

Following the ceremony, winners and guests were invited to a reception in the Mary Ann Tynan Conference Center, where, of course, pie was served.

To see photos from the event, visit the BWFH Facebook page.

2017 Partners in Excellence Award Winners


Vonette Anglin

Kristen Benya

Jeffrey Blackwell

Stephen Burns

Susan Doherty

Virginia Grace

Elizabeth Keegan

Paul Rizzoli


2 South Kitchen/Terrace Planning Team

Team Leaders: Paula Knotts, John Fromson and Kerry Parsons

Olukunle Ajayi

Yomi Buriamoh

Carolyn Leary

Rickie Rampersad

Nadia Sullivan

Leslie Tiffany

340B Implementation Team

Team Leader: Joseph O'Day

Joseph Broughton

James Bryant

Laura Carroll

Laura DeSisto

Margaret Duggan

Jessica Fagbote

David Garcia

Gerard Hadley

Jaeeun Lee

Timothy Mahoney

Robert Murphy

Peter Nguyen

John O'Leary

Robin Pataki

Susan Thibeault

Brian Zikaras

BWFH/BWH Stroke Support Team

Team Leaders: Kennis Bishop and Stacy Jagher

Diane Grasso

ED-Inpatient Clinical Hand-Off

Team Leader: Robin Powell

Jacquie Dejean

Juliet Gleason

Paula Hertello

Jeanne Hutchins

Kelly McGuire

Claire Massaro

Rose Donnell

Jessica Ollis

Suzelle Saint-Eloi

June Scott

Aliesha Wisdom

Endoscopy Scheduling

Team Leader: Linda Burgoon

Amanda Borchers

Kristen Boyer

Tonya Green

Sheila Harris

Mary Hourihan

Stacey Irwin

Stephanie Johnson

Kelley Joyce

Kelly McGuire

Carlo Pesce

Doris Ruiz

Post Anesthesia Care Unit/Operating Room Support Staff

Team Leader: Abdellah El Fatihi

Radcliff Chambers

Meghan Donahue

Adelina Dossantos

Eddie Fagan

Antonia Garcia

Rosalie Innocent

Stacey LaGuerre

Dameion Martineau

Michelle Mcaskill

Daniela Mendoza

Anthony Mitchell

Carl Porter

Jean Romulus

Jenny Valdez

Doreen Velasquez

Rehabilitation Services Revenue Cycle Work Group

Team Leader: Wanda Abercrombie

Anthony Bommarito

Ashley Lomuscio

Nancy Roy

Kassidy Stine

In addition to the individuals and teams being recognized at BWFH’s PIE Award Ceremony, additional staff members are also being recognized later this year for their participation on PHS PIE Award winning teams:

Allergy Remediation Team

Johanna Baldassari

Alana Gruszecki

Jeanne Hutchins

Shannon Vukosa

Paula Wolski

Partners HealthCare Agency Tiger Team

Laura Barnett

Helene Bowen-Brady

Colleen West

Read more news from Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital

Looking for more news from BWFH? Go to News to find articles about health, updates to our programs and services and stories about staff and patients.

Go to News